Serving. Teaching. Learning. Caring.

Bienvenue!, tānsi!, 환영합니다!

 

DUCC is an association of practitioners of diaconal ministry in the United Church of Canada.

Welcome to the community!

Meet usJoin us

Diakonia of The United Church of Canada Statement of Vision

God calls us to diaconal ministry.
The gospel of Jesus invites all to this ministry:
to offer compassion and accompaniment,
to work for liberation and justice,
to act as advocates of creative transformation.
More…

Meet the Community

So tell me again, What is a diaconal minister? How do you even say the word “diaconia”? or is it “diakonia”?

Get Involved

There are many ways to Support the DUCC Community!

Join us!

The gospel of Jesus invites all to this [diaconal] ministry:
to offer compassion and accompaniment.

Donations

Diaconal ministry in the United Church is a source of hope, positive change and transformative creativity.

Our Story

The Story of Diaconal Ministry in Brief

Online Documents

Diaconal Ministry in the United Church Bibliography

In Memorium

They nurtured our spirits and gave us their courage.

Diaconal Education

The educational preparation for United Church Diaconal Ministers is rigorous and thorough. Learn about current programs leading to Commissioning as a Diaconal Minister.

DUCC Organization

DUCC is an association of United Church of Canada Diaconal Ministers and others who identify themselves as being in diaconal ministry.

The primary purpose of DUCC is to create and maintain community and connection among its members. Click the button below for more on our Organization.

DUCC National Gatherings

National Gatherings

Next gathering at Tatamagouche Centre, Oct. 3-7, 2022

Creation . Reflection. Restoration .

Sound scholarship about diaconal ministry from the United Church’s diaconal community is a rich resource for diakonia. Check also our marketplace for resources for reflection, education or worship and on topics of interest in the diaconal community.

Scholarly worksResources for reflection

From our blog

Latest News & Updates

DUCC at GC44

DUCC at GC44

There are several diaconal folks attending the 44th General Council over these next six months. We even have someone who is offering tech support! If you have questions about the different proposals or procedures, you are invited to contact one of the following people...

Called To Serve

Called To Serve

One of the founding purposes of DUCC remains to advocate for recognition and better working conditions within the institutional church.  One way we can do this is to have Diaconal Ministers on GC committees and in GC staff positions informing the church about our...

DUCC Treasure Hunt

DUCC Treasure Hunt

Calling all 'DUCCies' to attend this fun and informative Zoom event to help uncover the DUCC treasures hiding in our homes and in our collective memory.   When: March 17, 2022  at 10 am PT, 11 am MT, 12 noon CT, 1 pm ET, 2 pm AT...